close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Blast Off with the Mobile Planetarium!

Join us for this Sensory - Friendly Summer Reading Kickoff!

2019-06-15 10:00:00 2019-06-15 12:00:00 America/New_York Blast Off with the Mobile Planetarium! Join us for this Sensory Friendly Summer Reading Kickoff event at the MakerLab! We will have Morehead Planetarium's Mobile Planetarium, a Sensory Room, and Ice Cream from Two Roosters Ice Cream! MakerLab @ Northgate

Saturday, June 15
10:00am - 12:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-06-15 10:00:00 2019-06-15 12:00:00 America/New_York Blast Off with the Mobile Planetarium! Join us for this Sensory Friendly Summer Reading Kickoff event at the MakerLab! We will have Morehead Planetarium's Mobile Planetarium, a Sensory Room, and Ice Cream from Two Roosters Ice Cream! MakerLab @ Northgate

Join us for this Sensory Friendly Summer Reading Kickoff event at the MakerLab! We will have Morehead Planetarium's Mobile Planetarium, a Sensory Room, and Ice Cream from Two Roosters Ice Cream!

AGE GROUP: | Tweens: 9-12 Year Olds | Intergenerational | Elementary School |

EVENT TYPE: | Summer Reading |

TAGS: | |

MakerLab @ Northgate

Phone: 919-560-0116
Location Manager:
Faith Burns

Hours
Mon, Jun 17 Closed
Tue, Jun 18 Closed
Wed, Jun 19 Closed
Thu, Jun 20 Closed
Fri, Jun 21 Closed
Sat, Jun 22 Closed
Sun, Jun 23 Closed

About the branch

With the closing of Main Library in January 2017 for a major renovation, the MakerLab is temporarily located at Northgate Mall. The lab is open whenever there is a program scheduled.

Regularly-scheduled Open MakerDays allow for the community to explore the many tools the lab has to offer, including 3D printing, Cubelets, BeeBots, watercolor bot, and so much more. During MakerDays, patrons may bring in digital files to print on the 3D printer. 

Upcoming events

Wed, Jun 19, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Add some space to your space with a beautiful cosmic painting from this guided workshop!
This event is full

Wed, Jun 19, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Learn the basics of using a sewing machine and designing your own clothes with instructor, Joy Chiles. For teens, 12-17 years old. All supplies will be provided. Registration required.
This event is full

Fri, Jun 21, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Join us for an Open Maker Day! Come explore some of our technology here at the MakerLab! Open to makers of all ages!

Sat, Jun 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm
You won’t find these animals on the Hollywood walk of fame, but if you look up to the stars you will see them!

Mon, Jun 24, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Tue, Jun 25, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Wed, Jun 26, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Thu, Jun 27, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Fri, Jun 28, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Sat, Jun 29, 10:00am - 11:00am
Don't miss this live space-themed puppet show! Jeghetto joins art and storytelling in a unique way for all audiences.

Mon, Jul 08, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Tue, Jul 09, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Wed, Jul 10, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Thu, Jul 11, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Fri, Jul 12, All day
Hold for science in the summer

Tue, Jul 16, 10:00am - 11:00am
Join Jack in an out-of-this-world adventure through the solar system! Learn about the origins of the names of the planets from Mercury to Neptune, and even the controversial Pluto.

Rescheduled
Tue, Jul 16, 11:00am - 12:30pm
New date Tuesday, July 16, 11:30am - 1:00pm
Join us as we explore cross-stitch, embroidery, and other needlework

Tue, Jul 16, 11:30am - 1:00pm
Join us as we explore cross-stitch, embroidery, and other needlework

Wed, Jul 17, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Come and make your own light up constellation with conductive thread and sewable LED's! Materials will be provided. *Registration is required.